Username
Password
Login is SSL protected. By clicking on "Log in Now" you agree to gixen.com terms of usage.

SearchSearch     

US user sniping UK listings

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Gastric

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 10:04 am    Post subject: US user sniping UK listings Reply with quote

I'm a US user. However, there's a UK listing I want to snipe. I did not change any of my Gixen settings and simply entered the UK listing number into Gixen and it appears to have found the correct auction and appears to have the correct time remaining value.

I did place one small incremental manual bid just to see if my US account could login and bid successfully, which it did.

However, I have no experience doing UK bid snipes so I have little confidence everything will work properly. In fact, after months of using Gixen I have yet to win a snipe yet as I'm always outbid by a few dollars a few seconds after my own bids, though I'm not necessarily saying that's Gixen's fault.

Has anyone done UK bids from US accounts?
Cupid

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 1:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I live in the United Kingdom, I bid on UK auctions using gixen all the time (though I do buy things worldwide as well), there are no issues with gixen in this respect it works fine.

eBay accounts are global you can use them on any site, but you can only bid on auctions that will ship to the location at which the account is registered.

A couple of things you should consider though, bear in mind the cost of shipping and be sure you know what you are going to be expected to pay for this if you win. Also dont forget that you are bidding in the currency of the auction, if its a UK listing that is most likely to be British Pounds, you can pay those using Paypal but you should consider how many dollars that is going to cost you and bid/snipe accordingly.
misnomer

PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 12:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote