Username
Password
Login is SSL protected. By clicking on "Log in Now" you agree to gixen.com terms of usage.


   SearchSearch     

All of the sudden Missing Link

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Gixen.com Forum Index -> Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bippy_video
Guest





PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2009 11:15 am    Post subject: All of the sudden Missing Link Reply with quote

Hi,

I don't remember what it is called, but I set up the thing to have a direct link to snipe the item from each ebaY auction page in the Firefox browser. I think I had to download Grease Monkey or something like that to make it work. If you could refresh my memory as to what that's called I would appreciate it, that way I could find it here in the forums.

Anyway, the link is not showing up anymore. One moment it was there, and now its gone. Can someone shine some light on this please?

Thank you in advance,
Troy
Back to top
mario
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Oct 2006
Posts: 6819

PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2009 11:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Troy, you can search for this in the Announcement section, a short manual & discussion how to set this up should still be there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
bippy_video
Guest





PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2009 12:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mario,

Do I have to re-set it up? Now the snipe link is appearing and disappearing from one auction to the next.

Thanks,
Troy
Back to top
mario
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Oct 2006
Posts: 6819

PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2009 1:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Troy, frankly - I have no idea. I do not maintain the autosnipe script and know as much about it as other users. I have never seen or heard of such a problem. Hopefully someone else will reply.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Gixen
Advertisements





PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2009 1:23 pm    Post subject:

Back to top
Cupid



Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 6879
Location: Bristol, UK

PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2009 4:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It will have to be John or Keith, I'm afraid... because I still dont use it... I'm happy in my backward ways Smile
_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dutchman48
Guest





PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 9:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi I too have had this problem but mine works on Ebay.ca but has disappeared from Ebay.com. I have started a separate post before seeing this one. Any help would be appreciated
Back to top
mario
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Oct 2006
Posts: 6819

PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 10:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dutchman48 wrote:
Hi I too have had this problem but mine works on Ebay.ca but has disappeared from Ebay.com. I have started a separate post before seeing this one. Any help would be appreciated


eBay must have changed something on their pages. They don't do it at the same time on US & international sites, so this may explain it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
juangrande



Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 890
Location: San Diego, California, USA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 10:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sure enough: I no longer see the <Snipe This Item> link on the eBay auctions I'm watching. However, I don't have the expertise to fix it. Only Keith (the developer) can do that.

The homepage for the autosnipe script is at
http://userscripts.org/scripts/show/8780

Unfortunately, I don't know how to contact Keith directly, and the homepage he has listed on his profile is no longer accessible.

I hope Keith has the time and inclination to fix it: I feel unarmed without it. Smile
_________________
John

If you don't know where you are going, you will wind up somewhere else.
--- Yogi Berra
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
juangrande



Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 890
Location: San Diego, California, USA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 1:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Addendum: I've verified what dutchman48 observed: the autosnipe script's <Snipe this item> link appears on eBay.ca auctions and on eBay.uk auctions, and probably other non-US sites as well. Very interesting! I wonder what eBay changed?
_________________
John

If you don't know where you are going, you will wind up somewhere else.
--- Yogi Berra
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mario
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Oct 2006
Posts: 6819

PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 2:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I digged a bit into it, and found that "Snipe this item" is burried into the "Share" link, which is now a javascript link that opens a menu. This is what changed.

A quick fix is to edit the script (Tools->GreaseMonkey->Manage User Scripts -> Edit), and replace the following string in the script: "ShowEmailAuctionToFriend" with "print=all".

That will bring the link back.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
fonaticalbuyer
Guest





PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 3:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well done Mario, excellent job!

Thanks,

Steve
Back to top
juangrande



Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 890
Location: San Diego, California, USA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 7:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You are truly a wizard, Mario! Thank you!
_________________
John

If you don't know where you are going, you will wind up somewhere else.
--- Yogi Berra
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
classic_boatworks
Guest





PostPosted: Fri Oct 30, 2009 9:03 am    Post subject: Missing link Reply with quote

You guys are awesome!
Back to top
Guest






PostPosted: Sat Oct 31, 2009 5:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks a million, but when I click on my edit button Windows Explorer opens up and it asks me to "Please choose your preferred text editor first," and I simply don't know what it wants me to do. Can someone with computer knowledge in this area please help me out?!

Thanks again!
Troy
Back to top
Cupid



Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 6879
Location: Bristol, UK

PostPosted: Sat Oct 31, 2009 6:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anonymous wrote:
Thanks a million, but when I click on my edit button Windows Explorer opens up and it asks me to "Please choose your preferred text editor first," and I simply don't know what it wants me to do. Can someone with computer knowledge in this area please help me out?!


Since you are using Internet Explorer I would guess you must be using the Windows operating system?

If so, Notepad is available and sufficient to perform the task of editing that script.
_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Gixen.com Forum Index -> Support All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2019 Gixen.com. Forum powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group.